Macina Dischi

  • €14,00
    Unit price per 
Tax included.

The release is a limited vinyl LP, featuring 42 minutes of music and pressed in 300 copies by the italian label MacinaDischi and the polish label Antena Krzyku.
On the Qui Side, a 22 minute single track divided into five moments, entitled "Fuck outer space" and representing a departure and expansion of their eclectic dimension.
On the ULTRAKELVIN side, the first six recorded tracks by the noise-punk band from Padova (Italy), here in their "ultra" version. The album will be released on November 7th, 2017, mastered by Carl Saff, and featuring the artwork of Andrea Mozzato /Officina Infernale, who, with its typical disturbed work, transforms the gatefold silkscreened LP cover into a nightmare.

2017 has been yet another busy year for Los Angeles noise rock weirdos, Qui. Beginning in January the duo embarked on a 6 week-long tour of Europe, visiting 13 countries, playing for their ever-growing legions of fans. During the tour they released the first of four vinyl releases for the year, a split LP with Rome’s MalClango as part of SubSound Records’ split series.
Upon returning home, Qui began putting the finishing touches on their next, and most ambitious release, Qui w/Trevor Dunn. Released the in July on Joyful Noise Recordings, the LP was a collaboration with legendary bassist Trevor Dunn (Mr. Bungle, Melvins Lite, Tomahawk, Fantomas, John Zorn, etc.) produced by esteemed engineer Toshi Kasai (Melvins, Big Business, Helmet, Tool, Foo Fighters, Robert Fripp, etc.).
In some ways a departure from previous records, it has been applauded by fans and critics as an excellent example of the creativity and prowess of Dunn and core Qui members Paul Christensen and Matt Cronk. Also featured on the album is a cover of the Captain Beefheart classic, “Ashtray Heart,” with main-Melvin King Buzzo guesting on lead vocals. The track received praise from, among many, producer and multi-instru- mentalist Eric Drew Feldman, bassist on the original Capt Beefheart track.
A brief tour followed in July in select cities on the US west coast, playing Los Angeles, San Francisco, Eureka, Portland and Seattle with Trevor in tow. The trio is bringing the show to the east coast in October with shows in Boston, New York, Philadelphia, Baltimore and Washington DC.
In addition to their work with Mr. Dunn, Qui has two more releases scheduled for the second half of 2017.
The first, a 10” EP entitled,Countdown To Ecstacy, will be available in September via Valley King Records, home to such luminaries as Altamont, Honky, The Monkeywrench and more.
The second is a LP split with Padua Italy’s noise rock provocateurs Ultrakelvin on their MacinaDischi label in coproduction with Poland oldest independent label Antena Kryzku.
Qui’s side is their 22 minute-long opus, Fuck Outer Space, yet another departure and further expansion of their eclectic pallet. After years of hard touring and rapid fire releases on prestigious labels like Three One G, Ipecac Recordings, Joyful Noise Recordingsand more, collaborations with legends like The Jesus Lizard’s David Yow and Minutemen Mike Watt, and sharing stages and tours with the likes of Sebadoh, Moistboyz, Hammerhead, Marnie Stern, Babes In Toyland, Retox, The Locust, Sleep, OFF!, Ed Shrader’s Music Beat, Helms Alee, Dumb Numbers, Moving Units, Head Wound City, and Alexander Hacke (Einsturzende Neubaut- en), Qui shows no sign of slowing down.
Expect more vinyl, more splits, and many more tours in the years to come!

QUI is Paul Christensen and Matt Cronk.

Ultrakelvin is a band formed by members of Kelvin and Putiferio, as an evolution of Kelvin, a band from Padova (Italy) formed in 1999 and composed by Anna on drums and Woolter on guitar/voice.
After Panda joined them on voice / keyboard, in mid-2016 Kelvin evolved to Ultrakelvin, reworking and adapting the old material and composing new songs.
The first 6 new tracks have been recorded by Stefano "Snatch" Scattolin at the Colosso Room in Camposampiero (PD) in June 2017 and are a clear and definite path towards the band's intent: bypassing boredom by playing hard and avoiding to be trapped under a specific musical genre.
Perhaps it is the reunion of Panda and Woolter (both voice and guitar in the first line-up of Putiferio, when "AteAteAte" was released by RobotRadio Records, 2008), that leads to a mixture of Kelvin's and Putiferio's sounds: an obsessive throw of monolithic sound assaults that can be classified between punk, noise and hardcore, not forgetting black metal incursions and a No Wave Attitude.

Anna - batteria, Woolter - chitarra/voce, Panda - voce/tastiere


We Also Recommend